I’m all about ‘dat…data.

Confession day.

One week ago today I rejoined Weight Watchers.  I cleared out all of my masterful blogging from the year gone by, but I know you know that I know that I trashed WW up and down the InterWebs on more than one blogging occasion.  I did. I really, really did.

(Fire away…I’ll wait.)

So…I didn’t rejoin because I completely believe in their approach. I did it for the data.  Well, at least that’s what I’m saying.  I am not going to start buying boxes of food that is wrapped in plastic that could stay in said packaging for years on my pantry shelf.  I’m not.  What I am going to do is report my activity and my food consumption and watch the data.  Truth be told, if I eat mostly good food (green, non-shelf stable stuff mainly) and add a few miles to my weekly totals, the data and my waistband should show some results in time.

Okay look…I can’t do this by myself.

Wait-wait.  Scratch that.

I can do this by myself.  I can lose weight, get my run back on and feel like a badass you-know-what, but I can’t stay there.  My very own personal studies show that I can get it off, but I can’t keep it off.  I don’t know how to live like a thin(ner) person.  I was a thin person for, um, a day?  No…I was a thin person for like a year of my 45 years and I loved being One Of Them.  But I was just visiting Small Town because everyone knows I was born and raised in Fat Ville.  I’d like to permanently relocate to Small Town, but I need to learn the language first.  Last time I visited I totally looked like a tourist.

I hope that some accountability by way of WW Online will help me learn and develop better habits – not of eating their “food” but by paying attention and asking if what I’m eating/doing is helping my cause or setting me back and then the follow up: am I ok with that?  Keeping a journal feels good, but not really accountable.  Seeing it on my screen, I hope, will have more an impact.

Positive: It was not a significant financial investment, but enough that I want to take it seriously.

Negative: I got nuthin and that feels just fine.

The first time I tried WW was also the week of Thanksgiving back in 2012.  I recall running my ass off on the beach like three times that day so I had extra activity points that I was SURE would make up for the sugar-laden food I was about to eat, but it didn’t.  When I weighed in the next day (Fridays were my weigh-days then) I gained like 7 pounds overnight.  Man oh man did I beat myself up that day.  I’m sure that if weighed the day after that, after my food had time to digest, things would not have been so bad.  I didn’t do that this time.  Baby steps, people.

Leave a Reply

